Property Manager changes address without proper notice

Status
Not open for further replies.

howardas

I've been a resident of a duplex apartment for what will be three years @the end of March 2011. Around February 2009 the property manager, without notice, changed the street address on the property to a totally out of sync number and withing 3 days requested that I sign a new lease with this new address. Well @that time I was in no position to move because of my student status and working part-time. The property manager claims that the builder got the map, box, plot mixed up and that is why the change was needed. BUT there is another duplex 2 houses down with THE SAME ADDRESS! This property has been vacant for the last couple of years until NOW, and someone now resides there for say 1 month. Within the last say 6 months I have had my paycheck stubs returned to sender, bank charges for returned mail, mail returned to family members, a for rent sign in my yard due to someone purchasing the property 2 doors down and confusing the property with where I reside, and now their mail is coming to my house. Not to mention having to put BOTH street numbers (old and new) on business& employment mailing correspondence to make sure I receive it. The light bill is still in the old address! UGH. Ready to move. Can i break my lease due to all of this?

Breaking a lease is never easy.
You are being inconvenienced.
But, your issues do not rise to the level where you can break the lease.

You might want to speak with the housing office on your campus. They might be able to offer you some solutions.

You could also speak with an attorney.

If your uni has a law school, see if the law school's legal clinic will assist you.

Check with the local postmaster about the address change.
Landlords are not powerful enough to change addresses.
The postmaster may be able to provide you with some insight about the address change.