Burglary at Rental - Landlord Expects Payment for Repairs

Status
Not open for further replies.

mlg18104

I am a student and rent a house near campus. I have renters insurance, and so do my roommates.

The house was burglarized during winter break. The house was completely locked and secured. The front door was kicked in. Each of the 4 bedroom doors which have independent locks were also kicked in.

I filed a claim with my renters insurance and my roommates did as well for our respective personal property.

Now, three-and-a-half months later, we each received a bill from the landlord seeking $175/each for "burglary repairs."

Is this legit in PA? While the lease says we are responsible for interior repairs, isn't the repair of the doors a casualty that is the responsibility of the landlord?

I am a student and rent a house near campus. I have renters insurance, and so do my roommates.

The house was burglarized during winter break. The house was completely locked and secured. The front door was kicked in. Each of the 4 bedroom doors which have independent locks were also kicked in.

I filed a claim with my renters insurance and my roommates did as well for our respective personal property.

Now, three-and-a-half months later, we each received a bill from the landlord seeking $175/each for "burglary repairs."

Is this legit in PA? While the lease says we are responsible for interior repairs, isn't the repair of the doors a casualty that is the responsibility of the landlord?

Read your lease.

Or, report the claim to your insurer and see if they will settle it for you.

You could Google "renter liability in PA" and see what turns up.

Personally, I'd pay him and be done with it.

Or, speak with hi about it and see if you can reach a settlement.

Not so fast!

MLG18104: