Can I get the property owner to relocate me?

RangerRudy

East Rockaway, NY

I have been renting an apt for 6 years. It is part of a multi-family home. I have my own electrical meter. I never knew of any legal or code problems. I am a senior and disabled. My rent is cheap compared to existing prices. Last Monday, the landlord received a violation letter from the village. The house should be 2 family not 3. My apartment is the illegal one. He defrauded me of almost $60,000. I am too old to be moving. And not well off physically or financially.

Why do you believe the landlord has "defrauded" you of almost $60K? You've been renting below market value for six years and doing fine with all of this. Unfortunately, it's the landlord that got caught (perhaps innocently, perhaps not so innocently) renting a 2 family unit as a 3.

Sounds like you're simply angry that you'll have to go to the trouble of moving and finding a more expensive place to live. Why should the landlord be legally obligated to relocate you? He/she may be facing fines from the city/county for this violation but that's about it.

Gail

East Rockaway, NY

I have been renting an apt for 6 years. It is part of a multi-family home. I have my own electrical meter. I never knew of any legal or code problems. I am a senior and disabled. My rent is cheap compared to existing prices. Last Monday, the landlord received a violation letter from the village. The house should be 2 family not 3. My apartment is the illegal one. He defrauded me of almost $60,000. I am too old to be moving. And not well off physically or financially.

Hello, Rudy:

I see you claim to be a senior citizen, residing currently in Queens, NY.
You also allege to be a victim of an unlawful apartment, or a unit not certified for human habitation, ie...NO RENTAL CERTIFICATE.

Okay, start by reading this PDF:

http://www.nyshcr.org/Rent/FactSheets/orafac21.pdf

Okay, let's save all of us some trouble and time.