Ex-Landlord problems/issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

yarthra

I had been renting one half of a duplex, for about 3 1/2 years. After the first year the lease was on a month to month basis. The end of August I received a letter from my landlord saying that he was terminating the lease and I had to be out by noon on September 31st. I just received a bill from my ex-landlord for a little over 1100 dollars.
I had gone in to pay September's Rent when the person in his office said that I couldn't write a check, all they would accept was cash from me. I was given no explanation as to why, I took the amount out of my bank a few days later and took it into the office. The bill I received says that I still owe September's rent, I can't find my receipt but I do have a bank statement showing the exact amount being withdrawn.
The bill I received from my ex-landlord stated that he considers my security deposit forfeited because of my supposedly not paying September's rent. There is also a charge for 125 in late fees for the months rent and charges for having the lawn mowed after I moved out. There was also a charge for having the carpets cleaned and something about having the place fogged due to the smell, which I had complained about 6 months before. The letter stated that either I pay the amount in full, make monthly payments or they will take me to court.
I'm a bit surprised and trying to figure out what my options are, I know I don't have that kind of money to pay all of that and to pay rent twice and not have my security deposit count towards any of it. I was out well before required and had keys turned in on the 20th of the month. I thought that after moving and turning in the keys I was not responsible for the lawn. I'm just at a bit of a loss.