FHA/HUD laws

KyleW

Hopefully this is the correct place, it was the closest section that I noticed but here we go:

This is just a general inquiry about FHA and HUD laws.

As a web application programmer my mind is always racing to try and think up something to create that A.) Something that I think can be useful and B.) Something to challenge me since I am self taught and do this on the side/for fun.

There is this fellow at my work who like me, likes to test waters in different markets for fun and experience and I was talking to him today because he is working on getting his Real Estate license and also wants to possibly start renting out one of his properties.

Well just recently I thought of an idea (probably already done, like I said its recent, and this is America and home to Capitalizm) for a database offered to property managers and landlords to for the most part run a background check on their potential tenants. With that in mind I know there are civil records for judgements, credit checks, and the like that can taint a tenants credit and stuff like that. But this is for landlords/managers to (to make what I say easier although it is far from a correct term and not politically correct) gossip about their previous tenant(s).

For example:
  • Were they habitually late on paying rent
  • Did they violate their lease terms
  • Did they damage property
Now keep in mind that I am not in the Real Estate industry, nor have I required a lease for a place to live so I don't know if things go unheard because they paid their damages quietly or their deposit covered any damages. But this is to kind of shed some light on prospects and give a bit more detail on what actually happened. There would be of course more features but this is not the place for it. I am not promoting anything.

Now for the question: