Help; Landlord wants me out!

Status
Not open for further replies.

adevonw1

I have been renting a house for almost two years. My lease will be up in August. Unfortunately we went through a rental company and don't get to speak to the landlord directly. So there has been a lot of miscommunication between the landlord and I due to a third party. Here is my issue:

I have had trouble with my landlord being on the property without any notice. The leasing company comes out twice a year to do inspections and this is what is in the contract. About six months ago I caught the landlord walking around the house and looking in the windows. He is always driving by the property and I frequently see him walking around or in the yard. I have complained to the management company about this but they do nothing about it. All they say is we will let him know he can't do that. Is there a direct law that I can quote to them that would get them and the landlord to take me seriously?

2nd issue-I do not have a pet but my parents do and I watch him on occasion when they are away. Such was the case about 2wks ago. I received a letter from the Home Owners Association stating that I am not allowed to keep a pet on a tie-out outside without supervision. I didn't think much of it b/c the dog was gone by that point. Well I received a call from the management company saying that the landlord received the same notice and is furious b/c I didn't pay the pet deposit, which is $500. Now he wants the pet deposit and an additional $250 or he wants to list the house now and us out. Is there anything I can do about this?

I feel that the management company is no help at all. When we have issues they ignore us but when the landlord has an issue we have to be on our p's and q's. I would appreciate any advice you can give me.