Job Loss, Break Lease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nahnook

My jurisdiction is: Florida

Hello, I'm a Florida resident who has leased a townhome for almost a year and a half now. I've paid my rent on time and have, what I would think, a pretty good rep for being a good Tenant, but I'm probably going to be laid off from work(they're moving to another state), if not this month, sometime in the next few.

Unfortunately, I didn't have this information until recently, and definitely didn't know about it 4 months ago when I renewed my lease for a year.

I've never broken a lease before, but I'm about 95% sure that I will have to soon .

I need to speak to my landlord about my opinions, but I wanted some advice on how to approach the subject with out seeming like I'm trying to 'use' their good-will. Their last tenant skipped out on last months rent(which is why they made me pay it ahead of time as part of the deposit), so I'm not sure how they'll react to me asking to be let out of the lease.

I've tried to read up on florida law regarding lease breaking and any rights I might have, but I'm seeing pretty much nothing. My lease doesn't include a clause specifically geared to canceling the lease, but does say if I breach the lease, my deposit(including last months rent) is forfeited and I'm required to pay the remaining months rent, court costs, etc.

I'd be fine with letting them keep the deposit(basically 2 months of rent) if I could make a clean break, but I'm afraid they'll try and take me for all I'm worth. I'm really scared, I can't afford to pay rent on one place, let alone two. :(

I guess what I'm looking for is options. Can anyone give me some advice on my circumstances?

Explain your employment situation with the landlord/management and request that you be allowed to attempt to find another tenant to "sublet" or take over your lease.