Lease and Service Charges Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

caengel2009

Hi all, I'm not a lawyer and was looking for an opinion on this situation I ran into with my Texas apartment management.

Background:

When I moved apartments, I contacted the power company to switch my service to a new address starting on the beginning of my new lease. This must have been botched, because I kept receiving confusing bills labelled as my new place but being read at my old place (its was very confusing, but this isn't what I'm worried about)

Because it took me a few months to realize something wasn't right, I corrected this issue and had it immediately switched to my name, at my new apartment. Now here is where the issue is:

In the next two months, I received 2 power bills from the complex, each with a $50 service charge added to it. (I have gotten the energy company to compensate me for one of them). I wanted your opinion on the legality of these fees in the wording of the contract:

Here is the exact wording:

"7. UTILITIES. We'll pay for the following items, if checked: (cable TV was the only one checked