Liability for tenant/cosigner if someone else lives in/damages apartment

Status
Not open for further replies.

sugarmagnolias

I signed a year lease last August, I'm a student with no credit history so my dad had to cosign on the lease for me. The original company I signed with went bankrupt and the building was transferred to another company a few months in. I never got a new lease with the new company and I've been confused on some issues (such as pets - the lease I signed said no pets but the new company has been renting to many people with dogs) but it hasn't been a problem so I haven't asked about it. I figured I would get a new lease after the year was up.

My boyfriend moved in with me back in August and has been paying about half the rent (almost) every month since we've been here. He isn't on the lease or listed as a roommate like many in this building. Our relationship has become very unhealthy and I'm not comfortable living with him anymore. I feel it would be incredibly cruel to kick him out in this situation since *I* am the one that wants out of the relationship - not to mention he has terrible credit, very little money, no job, no friends, nowhere to go, depressed, alcoholic, the whole deal. If it was up to him to leave, it would not happen unless I physically kicked him out.

My boyfriend paid the full security deposit which was first and last months rent plus a $600 security deposit that would be returned if the apartment was undamaged. So the rent we just paid this week covers us for the next month, and then the last month should be paid for already. So there's no more money due.