My parking spot is temporarily closed off, really unhappy about that, who's liable

Status
Not open for further replies.

badsearcher

I am currently a resident of the Monterey Bay in California and my apartment complex is being repainted with the area where my car is parked being the area being currently worked on. I pay 45 dollars a month in addition to my main rent to be able to have that parking spot (my roommate who moved in first uses the included garage) and I pay that so that I can have peace of mind at night knowing that my relatively expensive car is safe on the protected side of a gate.

But now I am forced to leave my car outside in a nearby mini-mall's parking lot from 8am to 5pm every day for the next week because my landlord simply tells me that he doesn't have anywhere else to let me park and then thanks me for "cooperating". The reason I have to let the car stay out at night is because I work very late at night sometimes from 3am to 6am and it is very inconvenient for me to have to wake up before 8am again just to repark my car (and even if it is daylight, I am still uncomfortable with leaving it out in the mini-mall for any significant duration). And the landlord hasn't even reduced my next month's rent by even a token amount of a few dollars to acknowledge that I did not get full use of the parking space that I am paying rent for.