No rental agreement, really cold, internet slow; want to leave.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ssToronto

Hey~ hope I can get some help here. I recently took a place in Toronto to be closer to my receptionist job (I'm a new grad from university, living away from my hometown). It's a Chinese owned basement.

What I didn't realize during my first daytime visit of the place is that it gets really cold at night. below 21 degrees for sure.. closer to 17.
the internet is "covered" but it's really slow and doesn't work half the time.

For the net, he says he is providing good internet and it works for others.

For the heat, it's my room that's really cold, but the common area and the other rooms are warm, so he can't increase the heat because my room is going to be a few degrees colder than the common space. So increasing the heat means overheating the other rooms... No heater or anything was mentioned, I'm wearing sweater and leggings when I sleep..

I already paid the first month rent in cash (he wants cash not cheque). The landlord asked for a last month rent deposit; I didn't want to give it to him. I want to leave after one month. I don't think it's worth it fighting over the net and heat. my housemates are loud and I want to leave anyway. I don't want to make him mad because he lives in the house.. he seems like the type to get mad... he's probably going to ask me again for the deposit soon.

I originally said I would stay at least 2 months.

I was ready with a cheque to pay rent and to sign the rental agreement the first day (no terms of anything was mentioned before I moved in). He didn't accept cheque, cash only, and he had no rental agreement. I got him the cash for the rent. On the third day, he asked for the last month deposit and for a key deposit. He didn't mention anything about those amounts before or when I moved in.