Renewing a Lease vs Signing a New one? New leases get benefits. Required to renew?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lamperouge

I live in Texas.

Im a college student trying to find a new place to live next year. I currently live at an apartment complex near my campus. I was looking at signing up again for next year here. But I came across some problems.

When I told the front leasing office that I wanted to signup again for next year, they told me 'technically' their renewal period ended in February. But they were willing to make an exception and let me renew. But I might have to move apartments.

On their website, they offer $500 off August rent, waive the admin and application fee, as well include a free TV. When I told them that I saw that, they told me that the special on their website was only for signing a NEW lease, the 'renewal' offers ended long ago.

...so what's the difference between a renewal and a signing a new lease? I might have to move buildings/rooms anyways, I'm not getting the same prices even if I renew (goes up 50.00), and it's technically a new lease since it's not the same. I asked the student worker (not manager) if I can just let me current lease end, then signup again. Then she said she thinks that there is a clause in the lease agreement that prevents that. I looked through my lease an didn't find anything.

Am I in the right to request those offers that new leasers get?

Here is my lease if anyone is curious: bit.ly/cX1aJB

I live in Texas.

Im a college student trying to find a new place to live next year. I currently live at an apartment complex near my campus. I was looking at signing up again for next year here. But I came across some problems.

When I told the front leasing office that I wanted to signup again for next year, they told me 'technically' their renewal period ended in February. But they were willing to make an exception and let me renew. But I might have to move apartments.